Millers stay in drop zone with Luton draw

Elijah Adebayo
Elijah Adebayo hit the crossbar for Luton in the first half

Rotherham United’s Championship survival hopes are out of their hands going into the final match of the season after they could only draw their game in hand at mid-table Luton Town.

The Millers started the day three points behind fourth-bottom Derby but knew victory in their last two matches would probably see them avoid relegation because of their superior goal difference.

In a frantic first half Elijah Adebayo thumped against the woodwork and Kiernan Dewsbury-Hall’s corner came off the post for Luton, while Rotherham also hit the post through Matt Crooks’ deft lob.

The visitors came closest to a winner after the break when Crooks headed Ryan Giles’ fine cross agonisingly wide at the back post.

Paul Warne’s Rotherham – who have only won one of their last 11 Championship games and scored just two goals in seven – will need to win at Cardiff on Saturday and hope Derby fail to beat relegation rivals Sheffield Wednesday if they are to stay up.

Wayne Rooney’s Rams will be safe with victory over second-bottom Wednesday, who must win at Pride Park and hope Rotherham do not triumph against Cardiff if they are to avoid going down to League One.

The point for Luton guarantees them a top-half finish and extends their unbeaten run to six matches as they continue their impressive finish to the season.

Adebayo almost beat visiting keeper Jamal Blackman from a difficult angle but his effort crashed off the bar and Dewsbury-Hall’s corner would have gone straight in if it wasn’t for Blackman clawing the ball against the post and out.

Rotherham also carried threat, Michael Smith putting a free header wide while Crooks watched his dink over Simon Sluga bounce and come back off the post.

The second half was a lower key affair but Crooks may rue his missed header while Luton’s Sonny Bradley had a stoppage time goal from a corner disallowed for a foul.



Formation 3-5-2

  • 12Sluga
  • 6Pearson
  • 5Bradley
  • 24Naismith
  • 26Bree
  • 4TunnicliffeSubstituted forLuaLuaat 76′minutes
  • 16Rea
  • 22Dewsbury-Hall
  • 3PottsSubstituted forCornickat 45′minutes
  • 29Adebayo
  • 19CollinsSubstituted forMpanzuat 62′minutes


  • 1Shea
  • 2Cranie
  • 7Cornick
  • 14Moncur
  • 17Mpanzu
  • 25LuaLua
  • 27Nombe
  • 28Morrell
  • 30Pereira


Formation 3-4-2-1

  • 27Blackman
  • 20Ihiekwe
  • 6Wood
  • 19Harding
  • 22OlosundeSubstituted forOgbeneat 65′minutes
  • 5Wing
  • 26BarlaserSubstituted forMattockat 74′minutes
  • 30Giles
  • 25Crooks
  • 8Wiles
  • 24SmithBooked at 43minsSubstituted forLadapoat 65′minutes


  • 1Johansson
  • 3Mattock
  • 4MacDonald
  • 10Ladapo
  • 11Ogbene
  • 16Lindsay
  • 17Sadlier
  • 21MacDonald
  • 28Jozefzoon

Live Text

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *