Medina Spirit wins Kentucky Derby

Jockey John Velazquez (left) and coach Bob Baffert (proper) received the Derby for the second yr in a row

Medina Spirit received the Kentucky Derby to present coach Bob Baffert a report seventh victory within the race.

Jockey John Velazquez led Medina Spirit from the entrance and held off three challengers on the house straight to assert his fourth Derby win.

It was Velazquez and Baffert’s second consecutive win collectively after Authentic won the delayed 2020 edition in September.

“I cannot believe he won this race,” Baffert instructed NBC Sports.

“This little horse, that’s him – he was all guts.”

Mandaloun completed second, simply forward of Hot Rod Charlie, whereas 5-2 favorite Essential Quality was fourth in Louisville.

American Baffert was unable to enter Life is Good, who doubtless would have been the race favorite, due to an damage sustained final month.

“When I saw him on an easy lead, I kept waiting for these horses to come at him, but Johnny had him in the perfect spot,” stated 68-year-old Baffert.

“I’m the luckiest guy in the world. The record hasn’t sunk in yet. I’m so thrilled. You just never know if you are ever going to be back – it’s so difficult.”

Baffert surpasses the report of Ben Jones, who received the Derby six instances between 1938 and 1952.

Puerto Rican Velazquez, 49, is now one win off the report of 5 victories shared by Eddie Arcaro and Bill Hartack.

“What an incredible feeling – this doesn’t get old,” Velazquez stated.

“I said to Bob, ‘we’re going to put him on the lead and see what happens and I think he’s the horse to beat’. It worked out.”

The 147th version of the Derby occurred in entrance of a socially distanced crowd of 51,838 at Churchill Downs, diminished from the same old capability of 150,000.

Last yr’s race occurred behind closed doorways and was moved to September due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Banner Image Reading Around the BBC - BlueFooter - Blue

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *